Odia filmmaker Ghanashyam Mohapatra wins Jaydev Award


Published on
07 Nov 2021, 10:08 PM

Odia filmmaker Ghanashyam Mohapatra wins Jaydev Award
Ghanashyam Mohapatra’s first feature film is “Kanaklata”

Veteran filmmaker Ghanashyam Mohapatra will be honored with the prestigious Jaydev Award for the Year 2019 for his lifelong contribution to Odia’s film industry.

Odisha’s Culture Minister Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi made the announcement on Friday.

According to reports, the prize will include a cash prize of Rs. 2 lakh and a certificate of honor.

Learn more about the filmmaker born in Dhenkanal.

Mohapatra first started making meaningful documentaries

The 1933-born filmmaker began his career as an assistant director at Filmistan Studio in Mumbai after completing a cinematography course in Bengaluru.

He had worked on more than 20 films with this studio.

He later made several significant films based on health and nutrition in women and children. At first he only directed documentaries, then moved on to directing feature films.

A filmmaker mortgaged his land to finance his first feature film “Kanaklata”

Actress Sujata starred in “Kanaklata”

Maa and Shisu was his first documentary film which won the award for best documentary in 1975 from the Odisha government.

He ventured into the making of feature films in 1974 starting with the film Kanaklata.

However, unable to find a producer for the film, the passionate filmmaker mortgaged his land in Cuttack to apply for a bank loan to finance the project.

Filmmaker Nilamadhab Panda to receive Best Director award

Notably, Kanaklata was Odia’s first feature film selected by the Museum of Modern Art in New York for its participation in the Festival of India Films.

Likewise, filmmaker Nilamadhab Panda was also shortlisted to receive the Best Director award for the film. Kalira Atita. This film also won the award for best film.

Saroj Parida wins Best Actor award, Kavya Kiran wins Best Actress award

Saroj Parida wins Best Actor award, Kavya Kiran wins Best Actress award

Saroj Parida, who made an impression with the film released in 2016 Mimansa directed by Chakradhara Sahoo, will get the award for best actor for his performance in the film Khousi, while Kavya Kiran will win the award for best actress for the same film.

Kalinga Keshari Nayak won the award for best artistic director while Chandrashekhar Sharma won the award for best sound engineer.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.