Odia Ghanshyam Mohapatra filmmaker to receive Jaydev Award


Veteran producer and director Ghanashyam Mohapatra has been shortlisted for the prestigious Jaydev Award for the Year 2019 for his lifelong contribution to Odia’s film industry. This was announced on Friday by Odisha’s Culture Minister Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi.

Mohapatra will be congratulated with a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh and a certificate of honor. Filmmaker Nila Madhab Panda was also shortlisted for the coveted Mohan Sundar Dev Goswami Award for his film Kalira Atita. The prize is accompanied by a cash prize of Rs 50,000 and a certificate of honor.

While Kalira Atita won the award for best film, Nila Madhav Panda was voted best director for directing the same feature film. While Saroj Parida was shortlisted for the best actor award for the film Khushi, Kavya Kiran will get the best actress award for the same film.

Bobby Mishra and Anjana Dash were respectively voted best actor and actress in a supporting role for the films Babu Bhaijan and Bapa Tume Bhari Dusta. Tribhuban Panda was selected as the best comic artist for the film Golmal Love. Aishwarya Mishra has been chosen for the award for best child artist for the film Khusi, the minister said.

The Odisha State Film Awards, established in 1968, are decided by independent jury members comprising prominent figures from the film fraternity, journalists, government officials, academics and other eminent figures from various fields.

The late Kapileswar Prasad Mohapatra (Sala Budhar Badla) was selected in the best story category while the best musical director (Balakrushna Samman) goes to Baidyanath Das (Nayaka Ra Na Devdas).

Best Play Singer (Male) goes to Swayam Padhi while Depti Rekha is chosen for Best Play Singer (Female). Best Director of Photography (Pramod Pati Samman) is for Rabindra Behera (Babu Bhaijaan) while Rajesh Das (Khushi) is Best Editor, Arun Mantri as Best Lyricist and Best Screenplay goes to Santosh Narayan Das.

Kalinga Keshari Nayak will receive the award for best artistic director and Chandrashekhar Sharma the best sound engineer. The special jury prize goes to actor Rohit Raj. Odisha’s government also declared the winners of the 8th State Tele Awards on Friday. Kalia Karuchii Lila was voted best TV series of the year 2019.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.